Is this an old muscadine vine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SomaWine

Junior
Reaction score
full

I found this today on a walk near what appeared to be what was left of an old demolished home. This is in NE SC close to this coast. The vine was growing a few hundred feet from a very long pond and just on the other side of that is a very large river. The bark makes me belobel it's a muscadine, as well as the location. I'm new to this whole thing, I'm wondering if it's possible to transplant it, or if it's more than one, them.

that area seems like it would be beautiful in spring! it could be a Muscatine like you said. Possible to transplant, i think so. will it be easy? Probably not. If I was you I would just come back at different times of the year and document it's beauty and progress, capture some high quality images and get them printed.

You would be best to propagate the vine from cuttings. Transplanting a vine rarely produces a strong viable vine because you are cutting off all those old long roots.

I would caution against stealing someone else's plant, even if they don't know that what they have is special.

Muscadines are very difficult to propagate by cuttings. You need a misting bed and the cutting would be taken in the summer. If one of the shoots coming off it is in the ground, that would be a lot easier. But you would have a lot of nerve, trespassing and taking a plant, unless there's a lot you haven't mentioned. The vine looks to be right next to a post. Is it part of an arbor?
edit: Yes, it looks like a muscadine.