Is my wine fermenting? And is this floating stuff a problem?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trishatk

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there!

Bear with me, this is my first try at making wine, and I have tried following my instructions as close as I can, but I checked my must after I added the rehydrated yeast about 20 hours ago, and there were no bubbles in the airlock, and something has formed at the top. There are a few bubbles in the formation, but I’m wondering if I’ve screwed this up already. Can anyone tell me if this is normal, and if not, is it fixable?

Thanks!

Attachments

• AE672F18-F176-4C50-98BF-872417A31DB7.jpeg
    AE672F18-F176-4C50-98BF-872417A31DB7.jpeg
    503.4 KB · Views: 128
  • 0AAA9B68-E2D7-4B37-ADCC-2DEF60673A47.jpeg
    0AAA9B68-E2D7-4B37-ADCC-2DEF60673A47.jpeg
    454.7 KB · Views: 117
That looks reasonably normal to me...

A lot depends on the temperature and what type of yeast you are using in how quickly/forcefully the bubbles and fermentation process is. Most of my stuff takes about 12-24 hours to get rolling, and it usually starts like what I see in your pics. Then it sort of does it's thing and takes off. The fact you aren't seeing bubbles in the airlock is simply because the fermentation hasn't really taken off yet and it takes a lot to push out the existing air in the top of the PF/airlock mechanism. Even when it's rolling along, mine only bubble about every six to 10 seconds.

One thing I do is daily give it a stir to introduce oxygen to the must and drive off some CO2 in the process.

Just relax and let it do it's thing. If it's not rolling in another couple days, report back...

M38A1:

Thanks so much for taking the time to give some input. That makes me feel much better, I just wanted to make sure I’m not completely off base here. Thanks again!!