is it possible to increase abv at end of fermentation?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric Bertoldo

Junior
Reaction score
Hi friends. I am nearing the end of fermentation with a Zinfandel kit with skins. I've been making wine for aprox 4 years and I made a rookie mistake of not doing the math when I took my initial reading. I started out at 1.082. Im nearing the end (14 days as of this post) with a .996 s.g. I was hoping, being a zin, that I would end up at around 14-15 abv. But I guess by not doing the calculations that I could just sprinkle fairy dust on it and it would magically be what I wanted. I should have added a little sugar to get it there, but I didn't.
My question is, has anyone ever added some sugar at the end to increase the abv? and if so, what would be the formula for figuring the abv when I'm done?
Im ok with letting it be what it is. I would hate to ruin it. But I'm just a little disappointed in the low abv which seems to be aiming at around 11.3 to 12.1. I now some will say why do I need higher abv? ...... Just a personal preference.
Thanks all.

You should be able to know the ABV given the SG, my hydrometer I think has a scale right next to SG which reads potential ABV. From your calculations you would also know how much sugar you shorted the juice, I think. So it should be possible to add sugar while it’s still fermenting to get back to a reasonable ABV. Or at least if you think the yeast is still capable of fermenting new sugars.