Increasing pH of finished wine (beer)?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seanywonton

Junior
Reaction score
Okay....I don't really make wine. I am a professional beer brewer of barrel-aged sour beer. It's a lot like wine in many ways. I have a few sour beer barrels that are TOO sour. I'm wondering if the winemaking world has any techniques or products for slightly increasing the pH of a finished product, without changing the flavor otherwise.

In the case of these too sour beers...they are sittting around 3.1 pH and I would like to get them to more like 3.3 to 3.4 (without blending with another beer). Thanks for any help!

Sean

In the wine making world you can employ Potassium Carbonate in measured/ calculated amounts that will react with the Tartaric Acid in grape juice. The acid will fall out as a solid precipitate. This then raises the pH of the wine and makes the wine less acidic.

Since I am not a beer maker I have no idea about acids in beer but if there are any its possible it may work in the same method to some extent. You may wish to look at our sister site for more possible info:

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/

In the brewing world, calcium or sodium carbonate - baking soda - is commonly used to raise pH in the mash, for example with a grain bill comprising lots of roasted malts.

You might test that out on a small sample of your finished beer to see how it goes.