I did an "oxygenate" search

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Newbie here. I am a Ale brewer from way back and am just now getting started with wine. Finally. My first kit (Italian Dolcetto Wine Kit - Winexpert Reserve - marked down from $149 to $129- that because of aging maybe? It was just released in June.) is in the mail. I found lots of concern and information about oxygen during fermentation and afterwards. I never saw anywhere if anyone is oxygenating must (NOT wort!) prior to pitching. Lots of people reported using an atmosphere permeable cloth cover over the fermenter. Does anyone oxygenate with pure O2 and a .5-micron stone and then seal it up with a bubbler in place? Seems more sanitary than gathering oxygen from the atmosphere. I am sure to learn more places that "this is not beer" but I must start somewhere. :)

Noooo. During the initial fermentation, about 1 to 2 weeks, the yeast needs oxygen to reproduce. Most often this is done in an open bucket with a clean towel draped over the top, secured with a cord or rubber band. After initial fermentation, the wine is racked into a carboy with a small neck and an air trap installed. It's at this time we restrict oxygen. During first fermentation we also punch the cap down or stir the must to instill oxygen for the yeast.

Happy Fermenting!

You will find that winemakers, particularly with red wines are much less worried about open air than beer brewers. We have several things in our favor, lower ph, higher alcohol, and tradition. We don't oxygenate or musts, but do allow them to get plenty of oxygen. It's very scary to the former beer brewers.