I AM A NEWBIE FOR JOE’S ANCIENT ORANGE RECIPE:

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
1) Will be using Himalayan raw wild forest honey collected from mountain cliffs and trees by traditional harvesting methods.
2) Is it possible to home brew it without heating the honey to retain natural flavors and nutrition, then what would it be?
3) What it takes to make it drinkable in two weeks time. As for couple of months ageing want to keep it as an option
4) First batch want to brew it with minimal additives/ingredients available with regards to the above targets

Can some please advice how to go about it

I have only made it one time. Thought when it was newly born that it tasted like sin. Had one bottle that got stuck away for a few years, it came out really good. With mine, aging worked wonders. You dont have to heat the honey. That being said, maybe warm it just a bit so it will mix with the water. Arne.

Perfectly okay to not heat the honey - most meadmakers don't anymore. Just add the honey to the water and stir until it is fully dissolved.

That said, you'll want to follow the rest of JAOM to the letter. Orange, clover, cinnamon stick, and even the raisins (ugh!). This is a recipe that intentionally does everything wrong in a balanced way to get a good outcome, and one small change can throw it all off-kilter.