How to prepar new barrel

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dabillskid

Junior
Reaction score
I’m new to this. I️ have a 10 gallon barrel that came in no wrapping got it from Carolina barrels online. They guy said it is sterile inside I️ just have to drill a hole. Should I️ soak with a kmeta water solution to swell it? They said just use water. I️ just don’t want to ruin 10 g of wine. I️ have 10 g of amarone in two 5 g carboys that I️ play to age 3 months before putting it I️ to the oak. Thanks

I’m new to this. I️ have a 10 gallon barrel that came in no wrapping got it from Carolina barrels online. They guy said it is sterile inside I️ just have to drill a hole. Should I️ soak with a kmeta water solution to swell it? They said just use water. I️ just don’t want to ruin 10 g of wine. I️ have 10 g of amarone in two 5 g carboys that I️ play to age 3 months before putting it I️ to the oak. Thanks

Here is one option, most others are the same. I'm waiting for my 8 gallon from Carolina Barrels. What it your initial reaction to yours? Make sure you have something to top it off with. Depending on your humidity you will need to top up regularly and watch the sulfite levels. The barrels seem to knock it down pretty quickly
https://harfordvineyard.com/wine-barrel-care/

Here is one option, most others are the same. I'm waiting for my 8 gallon from Carolina Barrels. What it your initial reaction to yours? Make sure you have something to top it off with. Depending on your humidity you will need to top up regularly and watch the sulfite levels. The barrels seem to knock it down pretty quickly
https://harfordvineyard.com/wine-barrel-care/