HELP! Need venison recipes!!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new to the wine game, but an old hat at venison. I've accumulated all the toys over the years and have made about everything there is to make, I imagine.

Can you share what you have at your disposal for equipment? I would be happy to share some recipes based on that. Grinder? Stuffer? Smoker? If not, no worries--it just opens up a lot more doors. If we are talking just how to manipulate whole muscle recipes, I can chime in there, too.

RANT WARNING ON MEAT TREATMENT: Bar none, and this is me being overly snooty, mind you--the best recipe can't cover for improper slaughter (and I am in NO WAY implying that is the case for anyone posting here!). I have changed a lot minds over the years for folks who claimed they don’t like venison. I am lucky enough to live and hunt in Northern Minnesota, and our primary season is in November, so getting and keeping the meat cold is easier here than it is for our friends down south as our temps fluctuate between 0 F and 30 F most of the season, but it’s no less important no matter where you live. Get the guts out ASAP, get the hide off ASAP, get the meat cooled down ASAP. If it’s too warm to hang, quarter it down and pack it in the fridge. Once completely cooled you can decide what to use right away and what to freeze. For quality later, I always wrap in cellophane, tightly, then in freezer paper. I find this approach preferable even to vacuum sealing. Freeze in as large of chunks as you can (that limits how much surface area is exposed to potential freezer burn/damage if you freeze things for more than a year). If you, for example, want to package two pounds of steak for a meal, instead of pre-cutting the steaks, keep the muscle whole, wrap, freeze, and then thaw/cut steaks before a planned meal.