Hello...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M38A1

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Total newbie here for making wine, so please be gentle. :)

Here in Central Tejas we have an abundance of Muscadine or Mustang grapes. Maybe 20 years ago I made an attempt following a non-yeast recipe which when done by the grandparents was awesome. A sweet, almost port sweet red. My iteration? Undrinkable following the same recipe. Clearly I can only improve, right?

Fast forward 20 years and I have access to a lot of these grapes again. So last year I started reading how to make wine, gathering vessels, test equipment and 'stuff'. We picked about three 5-gallon buckets of them, de-stemmed/cleaned and pressed. Along the way I figured out this process is a lot of physical work up front followed by some chemistry for a bit, and then the waiting game to see if it paid of. Well, last years batch was drinkable, but still a bit too tart for me instead of sweet. But that's a good thing, right? I have one bottle that has now aged a year and I'll pop that tonight. I had to get that first batch out of the way to learn.

So tomorrow we're headed out to pick Muscadine's for my second attempt, and with my fingers crossed and the experience from the board here I hope to have a better end product. Very much looking forward to my second year as a wine maker! My fallback? I'm building a still next if this year doesn't work. :)

Thank-you!

Johnd has taken me on as his 'project' and I can't say enough about he has helped a total stranger. Speaks volumes to me about the forum. (As an aside, I'm an admin on a board myself and we've worked hard to build a community doing exactly what John has done for others) My first 'real' attempt armed with some knowledge and John's guidance can be found HERE