Hello, I'm a newbie

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andy

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there

New to this, like a lot of people, bouth the JJ Berrry book and am now hooked :)

1st gallon was in the form of a Pino Kit, and tates superb.

Also have in demijohns

1 gal Sloe wine
1 gal Wheat wine
1 gal Rose hip wine

My question is:-

all three mixes fermented like a mad thing in the bucket ( around 7 days) , but as soon as they were transfered to demijohns the fement slowed to a near stop. I have used some re-start on the Sloe which is now fermenting nicely.

is this normal please ?

Andy:b

Need more info;
What was the starting gravity?
What is the gravity
What is the recipe?
Do you have a hydrometer?

Hi Tom

What was the starting gravity? No idea
What is the gravity no idea
What is the recipe? taken from JJ Berry's book

Do you have a hydrometer? no :d

Sorry not being very helpful am i :db

If you want to make wine you need some basic equipment. Hydrometer
Potassium Metabisulfite
Sorbate
TA kit
Acid Blend
Wine yeast
Just to name a few. Without the info I asked for no one can really answer those questions. The wine may have fermented dry and it may not have....

Despite the lack of hydrometer and the info that it would give....

...the BIG fermentation occurs in the primary....it usually starts to slow down around day 7....racking it to secondary you generally get minimal satisfaction from the airlock....but that's a good thing....that means that phase is almost done...and you're closer to the next step.

Hi andy and welcome to the forum.

Not all here make fruit wines or have the cjj berry book and he did write a couple of different volumes as I recall. If you need help with a specific wine.. It'll help us help you with more accuracy if you could quickly pop the recipe on your query.. followed by your method.