Hello From Indiana.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Allen

Reaction score
Hi Everybody!

I am not new to wine, but I am new to winemaking. I have been brewing beer for about 12 years (even though a dry red wine is my drink of choice), and just purchased 2 WE Selection International kits; Australian Cab, & Australian Shiraz. I plan on starting the first one next week!

I have allways wanted to make wines, but every time I have tasted home made wine, the best I could do was 'choke it down', so, sinceIdid not want to make bad wine, I had chosen to stick with beer.

However, a couple of things recently have encouraged me go for it.

One, I come from a long line of winemakers in Europe. Both my mother'sparents are from a small villiage south east of Vienna Austria. This June, I brought my wife & two teenagers there to meet the families for our first time. Our relatives there have four wineries, from 2 small "Vinotechs" to 2 large international wineries.

After spending time with them, the've convinced me that I have to continue the tradition out here. So, I went to my home brew shop to get started, and they turned me on to the Wine Expert kits as a good place to start, and told me that I couldn't make a bad wine with these, unless I tried to. (Which was reason #2 to go for it).

So, in the process of educating myself, happened across this site!!
smiley17.gif

My Austrian cousins tried to send me home with (10) 1 year oldZweigelt starts, but the US Department of Agriculture had some different ideas.
smiley7.gif
Since then, I have been trying to find a source in North America for Zweigelt starts, but have been unsuccessfull.