Hello from dusty Nevada

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilvixen

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I have been obsessively researching and reading about wine making for about a month now, and I started my first WE Trinity Red kit last weekend. Yesterday, I moved it from primary to secondary. I'm following the kit instructions for this first kit, as I've seen recommended, then I'll follow the 90 day extended instructions in the Making Your Wine Kit Shine article. My goal is to limit myself to two kits going at once, but we'll see how that goes.

About me: I'm a full-time software engineer by day and a part-time grad student at night (going for my MS in Finance and hopefully a career change). Those apparently don't keep me busy enough, so I'm now a hobby wine maker. Yep, I'm crazy, and my hubby is excited about the hobby and enabling me. Dangerous combination.

Cheers to new friends and home made wine!

Welcome!

You're joining the rest of this winemaking crazy crowd. :)

Welcome to aboard! Best of luck with your new hobby.

Hey, why don't you get your husband interested in brewing beer?

I started with kits a little over 3 years ago. About 1 1/2 years into the hobby I expanded into making fruit/country wines. Still do a lot of kits but the frugal in me just loves making wine where the wine itself cost less than the cork and bottle.

Last edited:
Welcome to WMT, a degree in Finance might come in handy with a hobby like this one.
Mike

I already ran the numbers, and while I'm still telling myself that we'll come out ahead by me making wine, the breakeven point keeps moving out when I realize I need this and that and I thought I could get with just that, but...

Welcome to the hobby and the forum!

If you have any questions, be sure to ask, as the forum members are all very helpful.