Hello from Auburn, Washington

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joedaddy

Reaction score
I have been making beer for several years but my wife and I just started making wine about 3 years ago. We made a few wine kits but we wanted more control of what kind of juice we were getting. So, 2 years ago we bought some pinot noir and chenin blanc grapes. The Pinot turned out OK but the Chenin Blanc was way too acidic. So we last year we joined the Boeing Employees Beer and Winemaking Club and took some classes from the experts. We bought zin, cab sauvegnion, syrah, and merlot through the club and so far we are really happy with the stuff we have in the carboys.

I have also been experimenting with fruit wines. I am not sure if I really like fruit wine that much but it is getting me a lot of experience in winemaking without having to wait for the yearly grape harvest. I have made small batches of strawberry, raspberry, blackberry, peach, apricot, cherry, carrot, rhubarb, methyglyn, honeydew, and pear.

I just converted my sparebedroom into a wine storage area and bought a portable air conditioner so I can continue to age my wines through the summer. I was looking for ideas on making some wine racks which led me to find this forum. I am sure I can find ideas as well as answers to many more of my questions here.

Joe
WELCOME. :dg
We have a very diverse group here so ASK away.

Hello and welcome. this is a really friendly site. Post often, ask questions and get to know us.

Hello Joe,

welcome to our little piece of the cyber world..

keep the questions coming, there are usually a few of us online to give you a hand, pretty much 24 hours a day here ( timezones!)

no question too big or small .. :p

Allie