Hello from a WNY Gardener

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shirley_Rocks

Old Wino, New Vintner
Reaction score
Hi, all... My name is Shirley, and I have a degree in geology (no job atm) hence the name. I'm an avid vegetable gardener, I have some fruit trees and things, planning on more, and I am new to wine making, although I grew up around a little bit of it.

I've been reading up on it for years, had purchased some equipment several years ago, but hadn't been able to find glass carboys locally until a few days ago. One year I was going to buy the plastic kind, but then masked robbers wiped out all of my concord grapes. Those @#&%@ raccoons seem to know when grapes have reached their peak of perfection!

When I was a kid, my dad made a few batches of wine, and I was allowed to try sweetened versions of the dandelion and the rose petal wines he made. You know, there aren't many things I remember clearly from back when I was that young, but I remember those distinctive tastes very, very well. Since the Japanese beetles tend to destroy those very same roses, it's unlikely I'll make that kind (although the first bloom occurs just before the beetles emerge, so next your I may beat them to it) but I'll definitely make dandelion wine. I've read a few recipes online over the years, and I understand better why the flavor was so distinctive.