Hello...first post

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

China-Clipper

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to wine making; just started a batch of WineExpert California Pinot Noir from a kit a week ago. I have a local Brew shop that is really great and finally thought I'd try a batch. I'm not a very sophisticated wine drinker, and am trying to learn as much as I can about the whole process. I just transferred my wine to the carboy for secondary fermentation and am really looking forward to having my own home-made wine to drink this Summer.

I see that most people recommend aging the wine at least six months or so; I imagine that means you have to anticipate "lead time" when making seasonal wines and/or in order to have a constant supply of wine to drink on a regular basis. I live in Connecticut and the snow fell last night with temps in the single digits.....I see this wine making as a good hobby to distract me from the cabin fever. Well, just thought I'd say "hi" and look forward to joining the wine-making club!
~Rick

Welcome Rick! This is an awesome place with so many experts to help out! I'm sure you won't look back on drinking too much store bought wine after this! Why wouldn't we want to make better wine than the cheap commercial wine at an even better price? It's been so cold up here where I'm located that I'm glad I have the wine making as a hobby, keeps me busy on days off like today!

Welcome fellow Nutmeger!

There are several other regulars on this site hailing from CT.

As far as aging, I only do kits, I've kinda settled in on 2 months bulk age when the kit says to bottle and then follow with 2 months bottle aging.

Best of luck with your first kit.

Yes you are correct sir! And now you know my secret!! Lol honestly after a few glasses my sox and sweaters come off! It's a good feeling! :)