Heating in Primary Fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Namaste

Junior
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to wine making and the forum and this is my first post. I started my first batch of wine last night and realized when I woke up this morning that the temp of the wine dipped down to as low as 63 degrees F during the night. So far there has been no signs of fermentation and I didn't expect any at these temps.

My house is kept at 68F during the day but gets cooler at night. I'm looking for ways to keep the temp of my wine at around 75F during fermentation. So far I'vebeen given a couple suggestions. I was wondering if you could way in on them and tell me what you think would be the best solution.

1. Heat the entire house to 70-75F (I don't really like that option)
2. Use a space heater to heat only thatroom (that's okay but I'd rather not use a space heater for prolonged amts of time without being monitored).
3. Use an aquarium heater (possible contamination risk?)
4. Put a heating pad under the fermentation bucket.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Bryan

In an emergency I have used a light placed very close to the primary bucket but dont recommend it for 2 long as light is not great for wine. If you can safely get it close to a heat source like where the fridge exhausts its heat from its motor that would help. Once the fermentation starts going good you most likely wont need any additional heating sources as the fermentation will produce its own heat and as long as your house is at those temps you will be fine till the fermentation starts slowing down. welcome to the forum and hope you stay with us and share your winemaking and life experiences with this big family!
Edited by: wade

Welcome to the Forum....Hope you enjoy your stay...

I keep my primary buckets in the kitchen....next to the fridge....