Hard Cider back sweetening

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
OK. I am a real newbie here. I have started a hard cider brew on 11/24 with 1 gallon of organic apple juice and 2 cups of sugar, 1/4tsp of yeast nutrient, and 1/4 pk of Cote des Blanco yeast. The SG was 1.06 at the start. On 12/6 the SG was .999 and was very dry so I back sweetened with 1 cup of sugar and 20 oz of the apple juice. On 12/13 I did the first racking. My question is - when should I see it start to clear or should I do something more to help it clear.

Did you do anything to stabilize the wine before adding the additional sugar and apple juice? You should have added potassium sorbate before the additional sugars. Check to see if it is fermenting again.

Did you add sorbate when backsweetening? If you didn't , and just added juice/sugar to a ferment with yeast still in it- you just upped the ABV. Without knowing the SG of the juice, I can't run through FermCalc to see what ABV you should now have, but I assume it is around 10%. I would be surprised myself to have cider clear in that short a time anyway, without major degassing and a clarifier like Dual-fine.

You also may want to add some pectic enzyme. I've had varying success with apple hard cider clearing. The enzymes seem to really help. Bentonite can also help drop yeast.

Did you add sorbate when backsweetening? If you didn't , and just added juice/sugar to a ferment with yeast still in it- you just upped the ABV. Without knowing the SG of the juice, I can't run through FermCalc to see what ABV you should now have, but I assume it is around 10%. I would be surprised myself to have cider clear in that short a time anyway, without major degassing and a clarifier like Dual-fine.