Greetings from Maine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LadyStardust

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Diana and my fiance and I ventured into country wine making this spring. I am an avid home cook, and he is a chef. I have been making and canning botanical jams and jellies for years (dandelion, wild violet, lilac, etc..). At the beginning of this year we made our first wild sourdough bread starter which introduced us to the world of fermentation. My late grandfather made dandelion wine every year when I was a child, and I'd always wanted to learn.

This spring, while collecting dandelions for jelly (and stumbling upon a huge patch of untended rhubarb), we just decided to take the plunge and ordered some basic winemaking supplies. It started with one carboy, an airlock and a few campden tablets. Four months later we now have, in progress, 5 gallons each of local rhubarb, local strawberry, cherry, and peach. Additionally we have 1 gallon each of local dandelion, local blueberry, blackberry, concord, and blackberry/raspberry tea wine going.

Things seem to be going pretty well for the most part, it's just alarming how quickly the hobby can spiral out of control; we need to stop investing in carboys and fermentation buckets and start saving up for bottles! :h We have learned something new with every batch that we start, and I decided to join the forum to keep the knowledge coming.

Thanks in advance for any future help with questions that I have!

-Diana

Last edited:
Diana, welcome!