Grape growing... let me pick your brains

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zintrigue

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm very new to this winemaking thing (my first rudimentary "Welches Wine" bubbling away in the pantry), so I thought I'd try to get some answers from people who know what they're talking about before I get too involved.

I've always wanted to grow my own grapes, now I have a reason. I'm in the Sierra Nevadas in California, zone 8b. We have 90-100º summers and cold winters, sometimes snowing at my elevation. I have a few questions that Google isn't answering.

1.) When is the best time to plant? I'm thinking some time in spring, but it probably also depends on my zone. The world is a strange place, though, this one might surprise me.
2.) How many grapes (and thusly, gallons of wine) can I expect per plant? (new vs established)
3.) What does everyone do for bird control? The little jerks ate all my blueberries this summer. I was thoroughly disappointed in my cat, who sat there and watched.
4.) Where is a good resource that will help me determine which grapes will grow best for my area, and how to coddle the ones that don't fare well here?

I have mostly orange clay soil, very poor nutrition. My roma tomatoes usually come out no bigger than a kiwi - with blossom end rot, due to poor calcium. I read that the poor nutrition is a good thing for wine grapes because it produces small grapes, which means more skins, which means more flavor.

I'm going to be planting them up on a ledge. Mountain life: tiered landscaping. I could take a picture of the proposed spot if it helps. If I space them six feet apart I should be able to fit about 12 plants. I have an irrigation system and an 8 foot fence around this spot - which faces south. Compost in the works.

Thoughts? Criticism? Laughter? Tell me what you know! :dg