Gewurztraminer - best choice of yeast?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BernardSmith

Reaction score
I don't typically make grape wines but I picked out a Gewurztraminer kit the other day and was wondering what might be the preferred yeast for such a wine. The kit comes with the Swiss army knife yeast EC 1118 but I cannot believe that that yeast will bring out the best of this wine.. How does D47 grab you? Thoughts? Thanks

I'm just a newbie, but I used Cote des Blancs in the one I just did (my first kit) and it turned out great, in my inexperienced opinion. :) In my research, I did see D47 and QA23 also recommended.

Cool, thanks for the confirmations. :) The Cotes was the only decent option I could get my hands on quickly, and I was inpatient to start my first kit, so I went with it. Maybe it wasn't ideal, but I like how it turned out.

I have ordered both D47 and QA23 for another Gewurz kit that is arriving today, but I'm not sure which one I will use on it. Sounds like D47 is preferred by most. Has anyone used QA23 and if so, what did you think of it?

I don't typically make grape wines but I picked out a Gewurztraminer kit the other day and was wondering what might be the preferred yeast for such a wine. The kit comes with the Swiss army knife yeast EC 1118 but I cannot believe that that yeast will bring out the best of this wine.. How does D47 grab you? Thoughts? Thanks

I don't make a lot of white wines but my goto's are Assmannshausen (AMH), QA23, Rhone 4600 or even 71B-1122. I'm sure D47 work work just fine.