WineXpert General Questions from a Newbie

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David219

Reaction score
I have been making wine from Winexpert kits for about 6 months. I have made, or am in the process of making, 5 kits. My first kit was an Island Mist Blackberry Cab. I entered it in the Indy International Wine Competition and was awarded a Silver Medal. I followed the directions to the letter.

My second kit was an Australian Cab/Shiraz. Having had such apparent success with my first kit, I did the same as with the first and followed the instructions to the letter. My realization of where I am on the learning curve with my new hobby started here. The wine appeared clear to me at the time of bottling, but is somewhat "gassy" when poured... probably from inadequate de-gassing or just not being patient enough (?).

I have subsequently made Luna Rossa, New Zealand Pinot Noir, and Italian Pinot Grigio kits. I have read a number of comments in different threads on bulk aging. My first question is: would it be OK to rack half of a six gallon batch into a three gallon carboy to bulk age some of the wine and bottle the rest? This would allow me to sample a number of bottles over time of a kit, enjoying the fruit of my labors, while "saving" some back in bulk for future bottling. Is there a time period where bulk aged wine takes a "step back" due to bottle shock after bottling where you need to allow time for bottle aging?

I use iodine for disinfection. I have read a number of opinions that rinsing after disinfection is not a good idea. Is this true for the use of iodine also? I have routinely been rinsing after disinfection with hot tap water.

Thanks in advance for any responses. I am really excited about learning the nuances of making really good wine!