Fruit wines using hot plate.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Barber

Junior
Reaction score
Good Morning!

I started making fruit wines. So far, they have been excellent! I started using a hotplate and monitoring the fermentation container to keep it at 95 degrees F. I had read that yeast grow well at this temperature. The fermentation occurs about 1 day faster using this method. Any thoughts on this? I'm not an experienced winemaker. This is my first time. I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts. Thanks! Dave Barber, Albuquerque, New Mexico. 6 November 2019

Good Morning!

I started making fruit wines. So far, they have been excellent! I started using a hotplate and monitoring the fermentation container to keep it at 95 degrees F. I had read that yeast grow well at this temperature. The fermentation occurs about 1 day faster using this method. Any thoughts on this? I'm not an experienced winemaker. This is my first time. I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts. Thanks! Dave Barber, Albuquerque, New Mexico. 6 November 2019

Wine yeasts have different ranges that they operate well within, and the type / style of wine that you intend to make can affect your decision as to what temperature range you would like to conduct fermentation. The ideal range for most yeast is well below 95F, though it may not kill the yeast. Consider looking at the information published by the yeast manufacturer on your selected yeast and use that as a guide to the applicable temperature range.

Depending on the type of fruit wine you are making heating the wine must can have some negative results:
1) Reducing the alcohol level due evaporation at higher temps (Small impact but negative nonetheless)