Foamy Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peterM

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine for a couple of years but am no expert. I have just made a 5 gallon Cabernet from a 3 week wine kit which refuses to lose its foamy head after stabilizing and subsequent fining. When fermentation stopped the wine still had a foamy top which would no subside. I racked it as normal before stabilizing which only made the foam worse. It settled to about half an inch but after 6 good degassing periods over the next 24 hours the head was still sitting on it. The gravity was 0.990 at finish. I decided to fine it regardless of the foamy top and the wine was beautifully clear after 72 hours. However the foam was still sitting there. As the wine was a three week kit and perfectly clear I decided to bottle it as I have done with all my other brews through a Boots filter to ensure no disturbed sediment affected my last bottles. Unfortunately, during bottling the wine produced froth in the bottles and it was only possible too half fill them.( I finally filled them by decanting the froth into a jug and topping up gently with other " deheaded " production.) I tried shaking the half filled bottles to see if there was any gas left, but it was minimal and could not be responsible for the froth. I have followed the same procedures on all my previous winemaking efforts and never had this froth problem before.
Can anyone suggest why this wine has ended up with a foamy head. I have taken a sample to the shop where I bought the kit, and both the vendor and I think it has an excellent taste even this early on bottling after 3 weeks, but he had no idea why the wine has a "beer" head which once there does not dissipate even after the glass sits overnight.