First try at beermaking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nursejohn

Reaction score
I am getting ready to order a Brewhouse Mexican Cerveza kit from George. This is my first attempt at making beer. My question is, will it be OK to ferment the beer at room temp (70-72 degrees F)? I have read on the forum about people using a fridge for fermenting. Also, I think I am going to try the dry yeast that comes in the kit. If I do this, will my beer turn out OK? Being that this is my first try, I am trying not to get too complicated. Any suggestions or advice will be appreciated!

Using a fridge when making beer is called "lagering" and requires a lager yeast. Your kit comes with ale yeast.
I have made a LOT of these kits. I have always fermented at room temperature (I fact I prefer about 74F), and used the included yeast.

Since it's your first beer kit, then I strongly recommend following the instructions and ignoring all advice for beer making on the internet.

Since you don't have the kit yet, the instructions are...
http://www.rjspagnols.com/en/resource/articles/brewhouse.aspx

Note many beer recipes make 5 US gallons. This kit, like most wine kits, makes 6 US gallons.

Steve

Thanks for the help cpfan. I appreciate it. Also, I'll be using a 7.9 gallon bucket, do I have any worries about it foaming over that?