First Ever Passionfruit Wine--and Fermentation Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnnArrogance

Junior
Reaction score
Hello, all! So, I'm totally new to winemaking (but loving it so far) and have my first batch underway! I'm using a variation on the "Canny Apple Wine" recipe from "The Joy of Home Wine Making" by Terry Garey, but substituting passionfruit juice for the apple juice (hey, she does encourage you to experiment!). Basically, here's what I've got going on:

48 fl. oz. passionfruit juice
juice of 2 lemons
1 lb. 10 oz. sugar
water to 1 gallon
1 tsp. pectic enzyme

I'm using Montrachet yeast, since the recipe recommends it and it came with my starter kit setup rom my LHBS.

I bought Ceres 100% juice passionfruit juice, which contains only pear and passionfruit juices, and no preservatives or anything. After putting everything together I tested the PA/SG, and added 10 oz. of sugar (the recipe originally called for only 1 lb.) to bring the PA up to 12%. Also added 1.5 tsp. of acid blend to bring the acidity up to 0.60 per my acid test kit. I let it sit undisturbed for 24 hours before adding the yeast, which I just sprinkled on top per the recipe.

Here's a pic right after adding the yeast:

Now, here's where the questions come in. From everything I've read other than this one recipe (which is a beginner's recipe in the book, so I know she's trying to keep it simple), you should start your fermentation in a primary fermenter. This recipe says to put it all in a gallon carboy with a good amount of headspace and cover the top with plastic wrap and a rubber band, then rack and top up in a couple of weeks. I put in a bung and airlock instead, since I had one (the recipe presupposes you don't and tries to use minimal equipment), and figured that would let gas escape a bit better than plastic wrap.