First brew jitters

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesjr

Reaction score
Well I just got my first ingredients kit and its a true brew nut brown ale.
I am extremely nervous im going to do one little thing wrong and ruin the whole batch so I have a few questions for y'all
1. I have an old aluminum Turkey fryer pot that has been used to fry things and I have an older stainless steel pot that could use some cleaning which is better?
2. My propane burner is broke at the moment will stove top give me proper btus?
3.kit says to boil with 2.5 gallons isn't more better.
4. I have a 5 gallon and a 7 or so gallon carboy which is better? Do I want head space?
5. Ive read that the instructions for these things arent that good? Or do I follow to a t?

Im completely new to breweing beer ive made some wine but man I love a good beer. Any other helps hints along the way would 've great if u need more info from me just let me kno thanks
-james

Let me start by saying that I don't brew beer, but I stayed in a holiday inn express last night ...

1. I have an old aluminum Turkey fryer pot that has been used to fry things and I have an older stainless steel pot that could use some cleaning which is better?

In general, metal cleans up well, so I wouldn't worry too much about transferring taste from frying. That assumes there is not any residual coating on the pot.

I prefer steel over aluminum. So, if I were you, I would clean up the old steel pot.

2. My propane burner is broke at the moment will stove top give me proper btus?

If you can get the water to boil, you are good to go.

3.kit says to boil with 2.5 gallons isn't more better.
5. Ive read that the instructions for these things arent that good? Or do I follow to a t?