Finish my first batch (guava), questions about order of events

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stressbaby

Just a Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Newbie here, first post. By way of intros, I am a long time greenhouse tropical fruit grower here in Missouri. A few months back I decided to try wine from my plants and so I have a total of 5 gals in secondary (guava, starfruit, hibiscus).

My first batch was a guava blend, 2 gallons. The recipe I used called for boiling the fruit. The link to the recipe is now broken, and I don't recall whether or not I used pectic enzyme at that time. It is now 5 months along. Today when I brought the wine up from the basement one of the airlocks had some funk growing in the water. :m The wine looks fine however. The aroma excellent, pure guava; taste is good, but tart; I would like to backsweeten this wine just a little bit. Color is sort of an amber and it is hazy, as it has been from the very beginning...this wine has stubbornly refused to clear. The pH is 3.4 and TA as tartaric is 10g/L which according to my chart translates to 6.5g/L H2SO4 and may be a little on the high side from what I've read. It was last racked 60 days ago and I added 1 Campden/gal at that time. It has laid down absolutely no sediment since the last racking.

The recipe said I would probably have to clear with bentonite. So from what I read I need to clear the wine, stabilize, and backsweeten.

• What order are those things done in? Do I stabilize and backsweeten then clear with the bentonite? Or do I clear with the bentonite first, then stabilize and backsweeten? Or can I do them at the same time?
  • Jack Keller says to rack the wine before adding bentonite. Do I need to do this if there is no sediment? Generally speaking, is there any benefit in racking wine when there is no sediment?