Fig Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Handy Andy

Reaction score
I am trying a 5 litre batch of fig wine. It is fermenting nicely!

I am a complete newby to fruit wine making !

Is a fruit mash of figs treated the same as red wine grapes?
After the fermentation is over in a few days, is it normal to procede by straining the fermented juice from the mash? I am thinking straining through a muslin cloth rather than putting into my wine press is the right thing to do, am I wrong?
Should I use Pottasium metabisulphate on the juice after straining?
Does it need racking in the same way as wine?

I am trying a 5 litre batch of fig wine. It is fermenting nicely!

I am a complete newby to fruit wine making !

Is a fruit mash of figs treated the same as red wine grapes?
After the fermentation is over in a few days, is it normal to procede by straining the fermented juice from the mash? I am thinking straining through a muslin cloth rather than putting into my wine press is the right thing to do, am I wrong?
Should I use Pottasium metabisulphate on the juice after straining?
Does it need racking in the same way as wine?
did you try that fig wine, how did it go?
Dawg

did you try that fig wine, how did it go?
Dawg

It finished fermenting, and my friends advised me to distill it, as it would develop a fungus and go off in their experience. So I distilled it, it tasted OK before distillation and tastes OK now, it is aging in the container until new year. I have another fig wine on the go, and am a more confident on what I am doing now, so this time its becoming a fig wine, and I will be adding k-meta at the end of the fermentation to stop it going off.

My wine press is, I think, way too big for the amount of juice I am expecting, ie the juice would get the press wet with only a little getting to the collecting tank.