Fertilizing Vines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treesaver

wino
Reaction score
I have been growing grapes now for over 15 years, and have read a lot written about fertilizing vines. Some say to fertilize twice a year with 10-10-10, and others say only if the vine has low vigor. The soil where I live and have my vines is red clay. Good topsoil down about eight inches to a foot, and old red clay that you could make bricks out of on down. I have thought about fertilizing numerous times, but would rather ere on the safe side than overdo this! I would like to hear from some of you that may have similar conditions on what you do. I have been raising good crops, and the leaves appear to show no signs of nutrient problems, but think I should be able to get more yield than what I have been getting.

Thoughts anyone? Thanks in advance, Lee

I'll be watching this thread.

I have the same conditions - so much clay here that we actually have brick plants - no joke, they mine the clay and make bricks. Anyway, my vines are just a year old and in the first year some, such as Traminette and Vidal, exhibited tremendous vigor (ie, 6' to the top wire PLUS bilateral 4-8' cordons with spurs) and certainly will not get any fertilizer. The Norton and Chambourcin much less so, I will hit them again this year.

Just wondering, what grapes? What trellising? What sort of pruning do you do?