Fermenting without mesh bag

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasterBlaster

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine for several years, but we only really do a couple batches a year when our fruit trees are ready to harvest. First time around I was told to use a mesh bag, so I did. I was really turned off when I found little bits of the nylon floating in my must. I washed the bag really well, but it was shedding where they cut the material even after a really good washing. I assume that it would stop shedding if I used it again, but like I said, I was turned off. So, I started fermenting without the bag and I have found that I get a very good result. When racking from primary to carboy, I have to run it through a strainer. It's a bit of a hassle, but I don't really mind. However, I do have problems when I am trying to measure my SG. I stir it daily and take my readings, but it is really difficult to get a good reading with all the fruit floating around. Is there a trick I can use to check SG? I was considering just straining out a small amount to test in my thief, but that is a bit more hassle than I really want to do. I have two batches going at once, so I would have to sanitize everything twice and it would be a bit of a procedure. Any tips or ideas for me? Or should I just use the mesh bags next time and hope any nylon bits get separated during racking?

I use bags. Never seen any nylon stuff. Now I'm going to start looking for it. I wonder if I've had that stuff and it just gets left behind in the lees.