fermentation... airlock bubbling over...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lol

Junior
Reaction score
Hi folk's I'm new to wine making new to the site and new to smart phones so am on a very steep learning curve. My 1st attempt at wine using home grown damsons seemed to go well . Once in the demijohn I put the airlock in place half full with water and left it. The next morning the water in the airlock was red and there was pinkish foam coming out of yhe top running down the airlock and demijohn. I have wiped this off 3 times in 2 days so am guessing I have done something wrong. All advice welcome..

Last edited:
first off, you need a bigger container, and next i would remove the air lock and cover with a cloth...yeast needs room and it needs oxygen.
add air lock after you rack to secondary.

Do you mean you're doing the ferment under airlock or that you transfered it to the demijohn and then the airlock won't stay in place?

The reason for this is the wine may not have fermented to dry so there's still a lot of yeast activity producing CO2. Do you have a hydrometer? You don't want to transfer the wine until you get an SG of at least 1.000 or else this is what happens.

Hi folks. Thanks for the replies. I followed the recipe added the yeast and yeast nutritient left it for 3 days in plastic bucket then transfered it to the demijohn. With airlock.thats when the airlock stated to ooze pink frothy stuff However I checked it this morning 2days on and no froth. I changed the airlock and its bubbling away and have just checked it and the water in the sirlock is clear no sign of froth. So I still dont really understand what happened