Fall juice buckets

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this may be a dumb question but I'm new to all the different grapes and grape wines in general really. I just got a email from my local homebrew store about pre ordering fall juice buckets. I've never done one before, but did some reading on here about the possibility of them already fermenting and different things. My question is....I have no idea what the difference is in grape varietys. To my unrefined heathen palate, Concord is the only wine grape variety I've ever really liked(or tried really). Church wine, what can I say. So I geuss my question is what variety of grape red or white California or Italian would you recommend to someone who likes semi-sweet Concord? Thanks everyone.

Edit. Also thought I should mention, I'm opening to trying new things. I just don't know where to start.

Hi Scruff and welcome to the forum. What part of "da 'Burgh?" I'm originally from Forest Hills.

Regarding your question, you can make just about any variety of grape wine and back sweeten it to your taste after it is fully fermented. Try a couple of wines from the stores to see what you like and then mimic that. There are many on this site who will gladly help you through the process.

I'm from up in Kittaning area north of city, but you know how it is around here. If you within a hour of Pittsburgh. That's were your from when you tell anyone, haha. I geuss I assumed you could back sweeten anything, just have zero clue on flavors. I've tried a few different types but when you were primarily a beer drinker your whole life the wine section can be overwhelming. Melot, Chardonnay and Pinot are on the top of the not my favorites list, haha. Just was wondering if there was a good starting point from Concord to broaden my horizons a little.