WineXpert Eclipse Stag Leap Merlot Extended Maceration

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi George it’s been suggested by Swedeman that I get advice on Fastferment from you , as I’ve seen you’re are “the man “ I’ve used mine and struggle to get sediment to drop , I’ve read somewhere about larger base openings , mine is 1 inch wide and maybe restrictive, I see you have the larger Fastferment units which naturally have larger openings is that the key? so please if you can offer tips and tricks to rescue my Fastferment from my dusty shed , thanks William
Good morning. As you have seen, I have been using FF fermentors since 2016 - love them. And, employ nine. What I can do is tell you how I used them and use them now. How I used them: I no longer make kits but when I did I found it best to use a muslin bag for all adjuncts (skins and chips). However, if a kit included oak dust I didn't add that to the must as it surely clogged the collection ball. I found that the collection ball easily held most of the fall out with few exceptions. Most notable exceptions where "big" Cabernet kits and one Super Tuscan but mostly only emptied the collection ball once at carboy transfer. I didn't use sorbate or any clearing agents opting for time to do the clearing. Here's an example of notes from an actual ferment:

RJS Hightail Merlot started on 1/21/19, OG 1.112, FG .993, added dry skins and heavy oak chips to muslin bag, RC212 yeast, (1/26/19 SG is 1.025, 1/27/19 SG is 1.019, 1/28 is 1.013, 1/29 is 1.007, 1/30 is 1.003, 1/31pm is 0.996, 2/1 is 0.995, 2/2 is 0.993), muslin bag removed on 3/9/2019, bulk aged in carboy with 2 spirals, barrel aged 7/1/2019, bottled 5/2/2020.