Easy Clean v KMeta as Sanitizer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grasshopper

Retired Newbie
Reaction score
I noticed in the recent thread
Wine Making & Grape Growing Forum > Wine Making > Beginners Wine Making Forum > first time bottling tomorrow (June 29, 2012)
that there might be different opinions on using Easy Clean vs. K-Meta as a no rinse sanitizer. As a newbie, I am not familiar with what the pluses and minuses of each might be. If I am correct, Easy Clean is OxyClean without the perfume and sanitizes because it is a strong oxidizer. K-Meta is a SO2 generator and sanitizes because it is a strong acid. Both claim to not need rinsing.

Before I started my first kit wine, I went to a kit wine making class/demo at my LHBS. If I understood what I heard (a big IF), they recommended using a 1 TBLS/gal Easy Clean solution to sanitize equipment. Thus I have been misting my mixing spoon, hydrometer, wine thief, etc. with a Easy Clean solution before using the equipment and I have not been obsessive about rinsing it off or even wiping it off prior to contacting my wine.

Reading the threads, it seem that most people use a 3 TBLS/gal k-meta solution for this purpose.

The other day I spilled a few drops of grape juice on the floor and gave it a quick spritz of Easy Clean solution prior to wiping it up. I noticed that the juice changed from purple to an interesting, but not attractive, shade of green almost immediately on contact. This has me somewhat concerned about my technique of not rinsing/wiping.

Any thoughts on the merits of Easy Clean vs. k-meta and the need to dry/rinse/wipe either would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

Bob: