Disease identification

Discussion in 'Grape Growing & Vineyard Forum' started by MBRedline, May 21, 2019.

Wine Making Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk by donating:

1. May 21, 2019 #1

MBRedline

MBRedline

MBRedline

Junior

Hello all,

Thanks so much for a place to learn so much about the vineyard process!

Backstory: I purchased a home 2 years ago with 4 vines in the back yard, largest one about 2.5 inches in diameter at the base. I have no idea what type of grape they are or any information as to how they were planted or anything else.

I really want to get them producing! I am a complete novice to grapes, but I did learn last season the I have to deal with japanese beatles and what I think was black rot.

After researching black rot, i pruned all the vines back very far this past winter. And got rid of all mummies. I then bought some liquid copper fungicide, Seven pesticides, and beetle bags.

I have been using seven, and liquid copper weekly since the first shoots were about 12 inches long.

The beetles haven't started yet, and everything looked great (to my eyes) till the last week. The berries that were starting, are beginning to disappear and the leaves have brown spots.

I am in central Virginia, the weather was quite rainy two weeks ago and has since been 70+°f

I am posting a link to some pictures. (They are to large to attach)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/GiaKdX84ejRujQBy9

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ps. I appologize if this info is obtainable via the search bar, but I dont even know what to search for. Please forgive me in advance.

2. May 22, 2019 #2

Masbustelo

Masbustelo

Masbustelo