Did I do MLF right??

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AbruzziRed

Reaction score
I just did my Chromatography test and it did not come out as expected. I tested 5 reds two of which I inoculated with CH16 two days after pitching the yeast. And the other 3 did not get the ML culture.
I attached the pic of the test and it looks like all 5 wines are still strong in Malic Acid, Tartaric and some Lactic.
All the wines taste decent to me but I am not an expert yet like I am with beer. But there is not tart taste and all taste smooth but almost flat. What are your thoughts? Should I warm up the Italian juices and add more CH-16? Any other recommendations?

The first two are Italian juice pails Montepulciano and Sangiovese with premier rouge yeast, got temp to 88 day 2 and inoculated with CH-16 and medium French oak chips then held temp avg 77 through day 5 when I racked both to secondary. I held secondary temp at around 77 for month and half and did notice some gas bubbles in must. I did not add Kmeta when going to secondary. But I did add a medium oak stick.

The other 3 wines (Merlot, Pinot Noir and Zinfandel) are all Lodi juice pails with premier cuvée yeast and nutrient, fermented to roughly 1.00 for all 3 over 4 days at temps peaking at 88 for one day then down to 70-75 for the last 3 days.

E2E30852-C9FE-43FA-ACB4-CB05C889D3D6.jpegE2E30852-C9FE-43FA-ACB4-CB05C889D3D6.jpeg

At this point, your two options are to re-do MLF or to call it well enough. Note that it is possible that MLF won't be able to reduce the remaining malic (see below).