Critique/Follow Along First Batch - Blueberry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shirley_Rocks

Old Wino, New Vintner
Reaction score
Hey all... I figured I'd post my first recipe and steps as I go along, so that I can get some feedback and so it will be easier to give the background when I have questions. And I'll have questions. So this is long since I want to capture the details, and I know it may help me later. I put my questions in bold for those who would like to skim.

I've been reading up on making wine for years, and finally have all the stuff I need. So while I'm new to this, I'm not totally in the dark. Boy, am I glad I've read as much as I have, because I can already see that while it's basically simple, there are so many different ways to do it!

At someone's recommendation, I picked up H.E. Bravery's "Successful Wine Making at Home" and while it has a lot of great info, it's a bit dated and not quite detailed enough about certain steps. However, I like that he gives several recipes for each fruit and has two methods: one for port style where the yeast is added before straining, and one for what he calls a "light table wine" where the yeast is added after straining. I went with the light table wine method as I want something light and fruity.

Since it's blueberry season, they seemed like a good choice for a first 5 gallon batch. I got all my stuff at a nice little local shop and had a nice chat with the owner and employee. I picked up a flat of blueberries on the way home along with two food grade buckets. I washed the berries thoroughly in the bucket with lots and lots of water, a wee bit of soap (I do all fruits/veggies this way), and rinsed them several times. They were all good, firm berries.