RJ Spagnols Compare RJS Grand Cru Int'l with CC Sterling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roger80465

Reaction score
I am a newbie to the group but have made various wines for a number of years, almost always according to the instructions. I have made several Cellar Craft Sterling kits with the grape skins but not the Grand Cru International. I was wondering if any of you have made both and how they compare. Just trying to decide my next kit. Thanks for any input.

I haven't made either, but I have heard nothing but good about both.
Maybe my post will get your question back on top of the queue, so someone who has made both, will respond.

I appreciate it Richard. Fun dilemma to be in. Not which is good but which is better.

Rog
smiley17.gif

Just noticed you are in The Springs. I'm in Morrison. Maybe need to have a tasting.
smiley2.gif

roger80465 said:
I appreciate it Richard. Fun dilemma to be in. Not which is good but which is better.

Rog
smiley17.gif

Just noticed you are in The Springs. I'm in Morrison. Maybe need to have a tasting.
smiley2.gif

We can sure do that!

Well, I forgot to check back on this post. I tried the Grand Cru International Brunello and have tried several of the CC Sterling series (Amarone, Merlot, OVZ). In the end, I find them all to be very nice every day wines. By themselves, they have very nice flavor and are oaked to my liking. With food, however, they simply disappear. All flavor is gone and they enhance nothing. This seems to be consistent throughout this style of wine. I would have thought the grape pack would have prevented that. I like these wines and are certainly budget friendly. Any suggestions to make these better 'food wines'? Maybe tannins, acid blend - I don't know. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.