Co2

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vlabruz

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I couldn't really find the answer. If you fill head space with co2 with it carbonate the wine or does it need the pressure behind it?
I'm assuming id you were to keg wine you need to use nitrogen?
Its two separate questions incase I confuse anyone. First pertaining to bulk aging in glass carboys.

To carbonate, it needs enough pressure to force some CO2 into suspension. I have no experience with kegging.
Thats what I figured. So, if co2 settles how will o2 get below it to oxidize your wine? And where does the co2 go when your wine is degassing if its heavier than o2 won't it just stay on top of the wine?

Thats what I figured. So, if co2 settles how will o2 get below it to oxidize your wine? And where does the co2 go when your wine is degassing if its heavier than o2 won't it just stay on top of the wine?

Gases do not "settle." They mix thoroughly and completely. All O2 in the headspace has "access" to your wine.

I couldn't really find the answer. If you fill head space with co2 with it carbonate the wine or does it need the pressure behind it?
I'm assuming id you were to keg wine you need to use nitrogen?
Its two separate questions incase I confuse anyone. First pertaining to bulk aging in glass carboys.
It WILL force carbonate your wine if there is any pressure behind it. There are charts for beer kegging which will show you how many “volumes “ will go in at certain CO2pressure/temperature combinations. I’ll try to find a chart and post it here. Iirc, I posted one in another thread about this subject a while ago.

Using nitrogen will result in nitrogenated wine, but it comes out of solution quicker and does not create carbonic acid like CO2 will.