Cloudy Pinot Grigio

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RegionRat

Reaction score
I racked a Pinot Grigio yesterday that was made from a juice bucket I bought in the fall. This was the second tracking while ageing and it still seems to be a little cloudy. This is my first attempt at a white wine. Should I be concerned or will it clear on itself. The pH and S 02 levels are fine .

RR

If you have a whole house filter (not any type of gravity filter) you could filter with a 1 micron filter. That should fix it up.

If you have a whole house filter (not any type of gravity filter) you could filter with a 1 micron filter. That should fix it up.

I guess what I am trying to ask is, if it not being totally clear now should concern me. I dont plan on bottling it for at least 6 more months.

I do have whole house filter. If you think I need to filter it now I will. If you think it will clear on its own I would rather just let it go.

RR

Clearing wine

THIS IS WHAT I WOULD DO,DO NOT FILTER YOUR WINE THROUGH A PUMPING SYSTEM YET ITS VERY YOUNG AND YOU COULD STRIP AWAY THE TASTE AS YOU FILTER ESPECIALLY WHITES,YOU STILL HAVE A LOT OF TIME TO LET IT SIT,IF YOUR IN HURRY THEN USE SUPERKLEER WITH IN 24 TO 36 HRS. IT SHOULD CLEAR NICELY AND SETTLE TO THE BOTTOM ,IF THERE STILL IS A HAZE THEN THAT COULD BE WHAT IS KNOWN AS PECTIN HAZE ALSO SOMETHING NOT TO BE OVERALLY CONCERN ABOUT YET ,THE WINE IS YOUNG YOU HAVE TIME,USE IT WISELY.:pic

TEMPERATURE CAN ADD TO YOUR DECREASE VISIBILITY.WERE IS THE SITTING AT, WHAT TEMP?

Last edited: