Clearing Apple Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Becks1955

Junior
Reaction score
I have 3 gallons of Apple wine that I've been reracking once a month for almost 6 months now. It's cloudy, so I added speedy bentonite as the instructions stated. However, it has not cleared at all. I only stirred it in periodically for the first 15 minutes. Should I stir it more, add more bentonite, add the Super Kleer or Sparkloid or just wait?

Any and all advice will be appreciated.

Thank you!

You need to slow down, you should not be racking every month. Once fermetation is complete, leave it sit 3 months before you rack. Are you adding sulfite when you rack?

Yes, I've added sulfite every time I've racked. I didn't realize you were supposed to wait three months between racking! Do I just let it sit now until it clears? I honestly have never had this much problem getting a wine to clear before.

How much k-meta have you been adding?

I would not add any k-meta for a long long time - possible think about getting an SO2 tester to monitor it.

Racking will not clear your wine either - like said above - those need to be sparingly and only when needed - if there is a lot of sediment.

Make sure you have degassed your wine - wine with a lot of CO2 in it will not clear well.

You can try adding some pectic enzymes - it could be pectin haze...

If that doesn't work you can try adding super kleer as well.

But IMHO it is only 6 months old - I would let it sit for a while.

Don't rush it...

I added the bentonite before I degassed, so is it too late to degas now? I've read that you should use the bentonite as your clarifier before you bottle. Instead of bentonite, should I be using the Super Kleer instead of Sparkloid now or do I wait some time and then try another clarifier like Super Kleer or Sparkloid?