Clarifying Banana Wine with pectic enzyme

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ericphotoart

Reaction score
I am trying to clarify my banana wine with pectic enzyme. I backsweeten the wine March 17 and and April 8 I added 1/4 tsp per gallon of pectic enzyme. The wine cleared slightly but I can still see some haze. I use a strong flashlight and backlight the carboy. This is my method but I can clearly see if the wine is crystal clear or not. I heard that higher alcohol and cooler temperature doesn't help pectic enzyme to clear the wine. This is my first time using pectic enzyme for this purpose so I'm not sure if this is true or not. My banana wine is quite strong 15.5-16% and the carboy is in about 55F. How long it usually take to clear the wine with pectic enzyme?

I've read many threads about using pectic enzyme for clearing. Haven't tried it myself yet but everyone swears it works.

My banana wine has been in secondary for about 5 days and I can see through about the top third of the carboy. Some serious lees going on. I used sliced banana disks in a brew bag. Did your recipe call for pectic enzyme?

Those are 2 pics taken now. I put some music notes in one pic for better contrast. You can see the wine is clear but when I look at it very close it still has suspended microscopic particles. Maybe I want to achieve something that can't be achieved. I added 1/4 tsp for 6 gallon fermenter at the very beginning of the fermentation per the recipe.

Attachments

• image2 (3).jpeg
    image2 (3).jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 8
  • image2 (3).jpeg
    image2 (3).jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 8
I added 1/4 tsp for 6 gallon fermenter at the very beginning of the fermentation per the recipe.
1/4 tsp for 6 gallons? If that isn't a typo, that's a miniscule amount.