Choosing when to harvest

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VictorV

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

In 2019 I purchased 1/4 ton of Syrah from a local grower. The primary vintner (commercial) of this specific
vineyard chose the harvest time with an emphasis on Acidity and not Brix. Ideally the target Brix for
Syrah is 24.5. At harvest time (Oct 23rd) the numbers were: Brix 29.3, TA 7.48, pH 3.28. The grapes
were just starting to raisin a bit.

I am new to winemaking and am fully aware that there are many ways to approach choosing harvest
time. What's interesting to me is that you can either adjust the TA or the Brix after harvest. TA
does not seem that hard to adjust. Since the Brix was so high though we had to add water to bring
it down to 24.5. That meant we had to water it down quite a bit. Would it have been better to
pick when the Brix was lower but the TA was higher? It seems like the flavor impact of a TA adjustment
is smaller than a huge Brix adjustment (if too high).

In our case we had to add about 12 gallons of water to 60 gallons of must to correct the Brix.
This seems like a lot of water and might result in a wine that's a bit thin.

Victor

Hi Everyone,
[snip]
What's interesting to me is that you can either adjust the TA or the Brix after harvest. TA
does not seem that hard to adjust. Since the Brix was so high though we had to add water to bring
it down to 24.5. That meant we had to water it down quite a bit. Would it have been better to
pick when the Brix was lower but the TA was higher? It seems like the flavor impact of a TA adjustment
is smaller than a huge Brix adjustment (if too high).

In our case we had to add about 12 gallons of water to 60 gallons of must to correct the Brix.
This seems like a lot of water and might result in a wine that's a bit thin.

Victor

Hi Victor,