Cherry wine questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flugel91_30

Funditor
Reaction score
Hello. As a preface to this, I'm new to both this forum and wine-making. I made 3 gallons of dandelion wine last year, but aside from that this is my first year making wine, and definitely my first year doing so relatively seriously. Anyway...

I'm working on a cherry wine right now, and have a few questions. I followed the recipe on Jack Keller's website for Morello (tart) cherries, using freshly picked cherries from a few trees nearby. I adjusted his recipe for five gallons of wine, and proceeded from there. However, after letting my must cool, I discovered that the 12.5 lbs of sugar the recipe calls for is FAR too much. My must had a SG of 1.130... I diluted it down to 1.110 (15% abv, 29 balling/brix, I believe).

So my first question is... if I am using Red Star Pasteur Red yeast, should fermentation proceed alright from here? I'm worried that the sugar concentration may be too much for the yeast to handle. I ran a Strawberry wine earlier, that is now aging/settling, that started with an initial SG of 1.112, and it fermented pretty well (11-12% abv upon transferring to secondary). Needless to say, I'll be checking the SG of my fruit juice before adding any sugar...