Checking TA with PH Meter

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goodfella

Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

I am still new to my Hanna PH Meter. George told me how to check the TA with this, But I am not sure if I have it correct.

I think ya take 15 ML of must and start adding Sodium Hydroxide... When the meter reads 8.2 you check how many ML sodium hydroxide was used... And that is your TA. (Example 6 ML S.H.= .60 TA)

Is this correct?

Thanks for your help...

Joel

It depends on the Normality (strength) of your NaOH. If your using 0.1N then you multiply the ml required by 1.5

I forgot to mention its also dependent on sample size.

Here is the link to the FVW Acid Testing page. Looks like sample size is 15ml and NaOH is 0.2N in order to get it to come out 1 to 1 like what you were thinking.

If you use 5ml sample and 0.1N NaOH then you multiply the result by 1.5.

I am using .10

So I am still a little confused... on a 15 ML sample and .10N solution... am I accurate on 6 MLs= .60 TA?

I tested a must from fresh Apple cider I am making into wine, I have not added any Acid... The PH was 3.5.... Using this method the TA was .90 (pretty high). But then I checked with a Accuvin Acid test and that said .70

I have also had a must that was 3.7 PH and the TA was .75.... I am confused because PH 3.7 is somewhat high, but to lower the PH you raise the TA.... But .75 TA is already high???????

Here is the Equation for using any sample size and any strength NaOH.

TA as tartaric acid (g/100 ml) = _(V) (N) (75) (100)_
(1000) (v)

V = ml of sodium hydroxide solution used for titration
N = Normality of sodium hydroxide solution
v = sample volume (ml)

If the above procedure is followed, the total titratable acidity can be calculated by multiplying the volume of 0.1 N NaOH used by a factor of .15.