Other Cheap kit tweaks

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maverick13

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first post but I have been scoping out the forum for a couple months. Thanks to everyone that has helped me without knowing it.

I am starting this thread in hopes of finding some different, possibly off the wall, ideas for doctoring up cheap kits - I buy vino italiano kits from amazon, 2 reds, 3 whites, and a white merlot (packlab makes them from what I have read here). Since I can not afford anything better and grew up with Franzia (okay maybe a tad better, but not by much) , I enjoy what i have made, for the moment. However there is always room for improvement.

So far to enhance these kits I have added bananas, raisins, fruits, tannin, and oak. Also tried cutting down to 5.25gal. I have read a lot here about the things I have already added and was hoping for some more ideas, unconventional or even something overlooked. For example, I was currious if anyone ever tried boiling peppercorns and then adding the water to the primary as a way to add spice to a shiraz or something.
Thanks for the time and help!

How about instead of buying 5 cheap kits, you buy 3 really good ones?

The quality is really in the starting juice mix.

Get a barrel, you would not believe the difference it will make. To get my barrel broke in I got a couple Vino Italiano kits. It made these kits very enjoyable.

Amazing, I was going to post a reply with the same advice given in the two posts above, i.e. buy fewer more high quality kits and get a barrel to take advantage of micro-oxygenation.

Cheap Tweaks