Can you help me with this recipe?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
NOTE: Just to clarify, there have been many alterations made to this post since it was initially posted. My original recipe has been changed many times to correct it as I gathered information. So, if some of the initial comments from others do not make sense, this is why. Sorry to confuse anyone. I correct the Original thread post as I gather information and I will continue to do so until I get the recipe perfect.

This is my first attempt at home brewing wine. I am going to make a quite basic, sweet apple wine soon. I am hoping for a sweet, crisp, alcohol content of 13.4% desert-like wine.
Could you let me know if you think it will be a good recipe for what I am wanting and if there are any changes, additions or subtractions I should make? I am an absolute beginner and I have gathered this info from various sources to create my own recipe. I want to run it by some experienced wine makers to make sure it will be good. Any help is very much appreciated. Please read what I have written carefully. I want to make sure I have all of my ducks in a row before I begin.

SWEET APPLE WINE "Apfelwein" (4 British Gallons) @ 13.4% Alcohol Content
SWEET APPLE WINE "Apfelwein" (4 British Gallons) @ 13.4% Alcohol Content
16 litres of apple juice (juiced from fresh cooking apples) plus minced pulp of apple left from juicer
Water to top up if necessary for measuring purposes
71B Wine Yeast (as per instructions on packet)
6 lbs Sugar (approximately)
6 Cups chopped golden sultanas
The juice of 1-2 lemons (to be added for flavor after fermentation)
4 Teaspoons of yeast nutrient
2 Vitamin B1 tablets
12 Campden tablets
4 Teaspoons Pectic Enzyme/Pectolase
2 Teaspoons Potassium Sorbate