Buzz: store bought vs. Homemade wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mccartjm

Junior
Reaction score
Hello. First time posting. I have been making wine for about 2 years. Not an expert, not terrible either. I wanted to ask more experienced winemakers about the subjective qualities regarding the 'buzz' quality you get from store bought vs homemade wine. I do not add sulfites or potassium sorbate to my wines. I rely on refrigeration and high alcohol to act as preservatives (try to achieve 20% abv or more). I do not back sweeten. I basically only use fruit, or juice, yeast nutrient, energizer, acid blend, pectic enzyme, and other common ingredients. I have noticed when drinking the wine I make I dont really get fatigued or a hangover. Its intoxicating, yet energizing, very energizing almost a stimulant vs cns depressant quality. It feels clean and pure. When I drink store bought wine I get a headache, feel tired, and feel hung over the next day. With homemade wine it's energetic, focused, pleasant, wonderful with no fatigue. Do you all experience this difference? I do not want to buy any commercial wine anymore. It just seems nasty to me now. I love drinking my own wine. Thank you

in some cases, definitely. These days I find I can really taste it when a wine has too much sulfite (and also if it's over oaked) and in both of these instances it stuffs around with my body.
But there's plenty of good quality commercial wines that use minimal sulfites and not much else in terms of additives.
1614562368485.png