Buttery ML Sensation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StimVino

Home Winemaker
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Already thinking about wine plans for next year and looking for ml bacteria with high Diacetyl Production to get buttery sensory effect in some red blends that Im considering. My research has pointed to Enoferm Beta ml bacteria. Ive seen Beta mentioned in a few threads with some success. Want to confirm with anyone that has used Beta that Im on the right track and will produce the buttery sensation that Im after. Or, perhaps another suggestion for ml bacteria. Thanks.

I looked into this a while back (though I was looking for strains that did not have big diacetyl production!) From my notes, Enoferm alpha, Enoferm beta, Lalvin MBR31, Enartis MCW and Viniflora CH35 were notable for diacetyl production. (I have no experience with any of these, though I've used Viniflora CH16 successfully)

I looked into this a while back (though I was looking for strains that did not have big diacetyl production!) From my notes, Enoferm alpha, Enoferm beta, Lalvin MBR31, Enartis MCW and Viniflora CH35 were notable for diacetyl production. (I have no experience with any of these, though I've used Viniflora CH16 successfully)
Thanks for the list. These all look like good options. The CH35 literature says it can overcome difficult conditions. I know Beta has high nutrient needs and requires warmer temperatures, so I may try CH35. My basement gets cold in winter and I typically have to move around space heaters to get ML to finish. My carboys are usually around 66 F in winter without supplemental heat.

An important point here is that the ML has to be carefully tracked and sulfite has to be added as soon as the ML is complete, otherwise the diacetyl will be consumed and lost.