Bulk aging red wine - some lees?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jkim888

Junior
Reaction score
Hello -

Kinda new to grape wine making.

I racked my Cab.S after MLF. There's about ~1 cm of lees dusted on the bottom. Is this of concern if I want to bulk age for a year?

Hello -

Kinda new to grape wine making.

I racked my Cab.S after MLF. There's about ~1 cm of lees dusted on the bottom. Is this of concern if I want to bulk age for a year?
I recently did a search and came up with a result that Sur Lie, aging wine on the fine lees, is only notable with whites because all reds are aged on the lees. well, I asked about it here a couple of times and got no definitive replies as it seems it is a bit of a muddy subject. However, I have been aging some heavy reds on the lees for 6 months now. I also have them on oak cubes. I asked if I should be racking off either, and the consensus was, leave them be. The oak will have imparted most of it's flavor by now so no harm in over oaking, and people commented that they have aged on the lees for 10-12 months.

So whether it is standard protocol, or not, I dunno, but there is certainly no harm in aging a red for most of its duration on the lees. Many here do from what I have gathered.

Thank you for your input Vinny. There's an incredibly light amount in my current carboy, thus after reading your input I think i'm good to leave it as be.
I have a gewurztraminer currently surlie aging. I am quite excited to see how it changes at the end of the process.

I always rack after MLF and before bottling. I have an optional racking in-between these two activities depending on the amount and nature of the sediment. If the wine is in a barrel and I cannot see the lees, I will base that optional racking on the wine as well as the quality of the fruit and the cleanliness of the ferment.